Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Last Sunday, Anthony, my husband, and I were sitting in the local sports bar watching football (go Green Bay!!) when he suggested I a new type of post for this blog. He suggested that every Sunday, at least through the end of football season, I should post a gluten and dairy-free football friendly snack. What a good idea. I knew I married him for a reason other than his Puerto Greeken (that’s right he’s half Puerto Rican and half Greek) good looks. So here is my first Snack Attack Sunday post, let me know what you think. I’m thinking of posting them early Sunday morning so you have time to pick up what you need before game time, if however you think it would be better to post it earlier let me know.

I felt fried pickles would be an ideal snack to make gluten and dairy-free, seeing as I had been salivating over them at the sports bar. We made our fried pickles with pickle spears but you can make them with pickle chips. Which pickle form you pick depends on how much pickle flavor you want; pickle spears, lots of pickle flavor, pickle chips, not so much. What to dip your fried pickles into is a question that deserves serious thought. My allergy-free husband loves his with blue cheese dressing, I like mine with creamy horseradish sauce, ketchup or Organicville Non-Dairy Ranch Dressing. What do you dip your fried pickles in? These are guaranteed to be a crowd pleaser and no one will be the wiser that they’re gluten and dairy-free. Enjoy!

Gluten and Dairy-Free Fried Pickles

  • 1 24 ounce jar of dill pickle spears or chips, chilled
  • 1/2 cup of corn meal
  • 1/4 cup gluten free all-purpose flour mix
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon Old Bay seasoning
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup of non-dairy milk (almond, rice, soy)

Start with very cold pickles.

Mix the egg and non-dairy milk together in one bowl and mix the corm meal, flour and seasoning together in another bowl. First dip the pickles in the egg mixture then dredge them through the corn meal mixture. Place breaded pickles on a plate and place back in the refrigerator for 30 minutes.

Bring a deep-fat fryer to 370 degrees or place an inch of oil in a frying pan and bring up to heat. Place the breaded pickles in the oil and fry about 3 minutes per side or until nice and golden brown. Pat the excess oil off with a paper towel and serve immediately along with your favorite dipping sauces.

Note: If you’re in a hurry, buy refrigerated pickles so they’re cold when you get them home or forget about the cold pickles all together. It wont make you dish a disaster, but it helps the batter stay on, don’t ask me why. If you don’t have Old Bay seasoning, use a savory combination of spices such as garlic and paprika, chili powder or Cajun seasoning.  

