Tags

, , , , , , , ,

My brother, Joshua, and his wife, Danielle, my husband and I and my parents all have our wedding anniversaries within a few weeks of each other. So every year my parents have a combined anniversary dinner for all of us. This year my brother and I decided to throw a monkey wrench into my mother’s meal plan by finding out about all of our food allergies (a post is in the works about how my brother and I found out about our allergies and the amazing doctor who started us down the path to health) 2 days before the dinner. My ever supportive and determined mother read every ingredient label, changed her menu and altered recipes to make sure her babies could have something delicious eat.

Dinner was of course delicious and Josh and I were very thankful to be able to eat safely, but the biggest surprise was a delicious batch of cookies we could eat! My mother is a wonderful baker so there was no way she was going to let the lack of gluten or dairy stop her from making us a delicious dessert. The results were fantastic and you would never know these macaroons have neither gluten nor dairy. These aren’t your typical dense coconut macaroon. It’s more like if a coconut macaroon and a meringue cookie had a baby, a little chewy, a little crisp and a whole lot of deliciousness. As with any coconut macaroon its delicious dipped in melted dairy-free chocolate. Enjoy!

Gluten and Dairy-Free Coconut Macaroons

  • 4 large or 5 medium egg whites
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla or almond extract
  • 1/4 cup almond flour
  • 3 1/3 cups shredded sweetened coconut

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.

Place the egg whites in a metal, glass or ceramic bowel and beat with a mixer until the egg whites become frothy. Add the extract, beat in. Slowly add the sugar and beat the eggs until they almost form soft peaks.

Slowly fold in coconut and almond flour. Drop tablespoon size mounds of the mixture on to a parchment paper lined baking sheet. Bake 20-25 minutes until the macaroons are nicely browned.

