Tags

, , , ,

 While I was rummaging through my refrigerator last evening I came upon a forgotten bag of Brussels sprouts. They came in my CSA share last week and I set them aside to make something special, they’re one of my favorite vegetables, and then promptly forgot about them.  No worries though they have since been happily devoured.

I needed a quick recipe because after work, running and walking the pooch much of my evening has been used up. Also I needed a recipe to win over a Brussels sprout critic, AKA my husband. This recipe is not only quick and delicious but it’s also easy. Could you ask for anything more from some cabbage? After dinner Anthony, my husband, actually said they were the best Brussels sprouts he’s ever had. The magnitude of that statement was quickly diminished when he added they were also the only Brussels sprouts he’s ever had. I know, I couldn’t believe it either. I might have failed as a wife if these were the first Brussels sprouts I’ve ever cooked for him.

This recipe has lots of room for customization so try it different ways and see which one you like the best. I promise it will make any Brussels sprout critic eat…well their Brussels sprouts. Enjoy!

 Caramelized Brussels Sprouts

  • 1 pint of fresh Brussels sprouts, about 12
  • 1 or 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil or Earth Balance
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1/4-1/3 cup walnuts, pistachios or cashews, chopped
  • sea salt, to taste

Clean the Brussels sprouts and remove any brown or spotted outer leaves. Slice them thinly. Heat the oil or Earth Balance in a heavy bottomed pan over medium heat. Add the sliced Brussels sprouts and garlic and sauté 10 minutes or until the Brussels sprouts begin to brown. Add the brown sugar, nuts and salt and sauté another 5 minutes or until the Brussels sprouts are nice and brown and the nuts are slightly toasted. Serve warm or chilled.

Note: If you’re trying to watch your sugar intake you can make this recipe without the added sugar. It will taste just as delicious.  

