Tags

, , , , , ,

This is a post of firsts. My first post on my first blog and appropriately the first cookie recipe I made after my allergy diagnosis.

Baking soothes my soul. I grew up bumping hips with my mother as we whipped up lovely baked goods in the kitchen. Baking takes me back to that time. I also love the precision of baking, it feeds in to my type A personality. Measure, sift, mix, bake. Follow the directions and it turns out right, a rarity in this complex life. Who am I kidding I just love to lick the spoon.  

I was worried after learning my diagnosis that I wouldn’t be able to make desserts of the caliber I’m used to. These cookies expelled all my concerns. On the plus side they’re super easy and don’t require any expensive or unusual ingredients. I should call them Pantry Peanut Butter Cookies because all the ingredients are usually on hand in even the most basic of pantries. I’m not sure what magic turns these 5 ingredients into wonderful cookies but I’m sure glad it does. These cookies have received high marks from everyone whose tried them. Enjoy!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies 

  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar, plus additional for rolling cookies in 
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 cup peanut butter, chunky or smooth your call
  • 1 egg

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Mix together the sugars and the baking powder so the baking powder is well distributed throughout the dough. Add the peanut butter and egg. Mix well. Roll dough into golf-ball sized balls and roll them in the additional sugar until coated. Place on parchment paper lined baking sheet and press down with a fork to make the traditional peanut butter cookie design. Bake 10-12 minutes until nicely browned. These cookies are extremely fragile while hot so be careful when moving them to a cooling rack. Enjoy!

Note: You can use a full cup of either white sugar or brown sugar. All white sugar will give a crisper cooker while all brown sugar will give a softer cookie. I like the mix of both but experiment and make them to your liking.

